Tags

, , ,

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing. – Edmund Burke

The newspaper that I worked for had this on their masthead since the beginning of time and yet the quote always confused me. I now understand it and realize that it’s basically saying that unless we, as good human beings on this earth do something about the evil in this world, it will control us.

We are a country of alienable rights bestowed upon us by our forefathers. Yes, they made their share of mistakes too however as the years went by, those mistakes were corrected. Women could finally vote, black men and women were considered equals and we finally repealed Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell in the military. However, after the recent events in our country I feel like we are taking a million steps back.

Gay men and women still are not allowed to marry. I know this will change and it will change soon. I know this because it took until the late 60s, early 70s for interracial marriage to become allowed in almost every single state. It took the old school believers dying off for this to happen. This is a sad but true statement. We are stuck because the old school way of thinking still prevails.

The good news is that the majority of my generation believes that EVERYONE has the right to love whomever they want. We are more worried about having enough money to retire, if we’ll find jobs and wondering if our social security will be available when we are in our 60s

I promise this isn’t another gay rights blog though. Even though I’ll preach that until I can’t no more. This is pushing on another point.

I’ve been working my ass off at work the past couple of days and when I came home the other day, I walked in to a breaking news story that some a-hole walked into a Sikh temple and shot up the place. We will never know the motive because the cops got a hold of him. As the details came out about this man who will not get a mention by name from me to keep his “fame” to a minimum, we discover that he belonged to a hate group.

Shocker.

He just didn’t belong to “a” hate group, but one that is known for violent attacks against others. And in another “we should have known” moment, the authorities (whoever they are) were investigating him and said group.

So why weren’t we keeping better tabs on a man, and a group, known for violence? Why are groups like this allowed to continue?

Well unfortunately the same rights that would allow “gay” marriage rights also protect these kinds of hate groups. The only time they really get the attention they want is when they commit a hate crime. They have free speech rights just like the rest of us. They have the right to believe what they want to believe.

Does that make it right?

No.

What can we do about it?

Quit giving them the attention that they want. Yes hate has been around as long as love but it doesn’t make it right.

I sat down and talked with a man who belonged to the Skin Heads about 6 years ago to interview him for an article I was writing on the Skin Head movement in the South. He was well spoken, very well educated and had a huge argument to make about the “purity” of America. The more he talked, the more I found myself understanding why people will follow these groups. They try to hit on core components of the things that make you angry. Tired of not having a job? Let’s blame it on this racial group. Did your old lady run away with this non-white guy? Let’s blame it on that racial group.

Young people are so impressionable and as a young child I could have honestly gone either way. Living in the South it has always been a coin-flip as to how I would turn out, but I have my mother to thank for giving me the tools for tolerance. I believe everyone has the same rights as one another. I don’t think any one person or groups of people are better than the other. I still cringe at the “N” word and think that if you use it to this day, you’re ignorant.

I just hope that my children continue to learn from tolerant people and understand that bashing others for their beliefs or skin color is just plain wrong.

Thanks mom for making me understanding and caring person.

