Tags

, , , , , ,

Yeah, yeah… I know. No blog in how long? I’m sorry for the inability to put a couple of words together the past month or so. My job has taken so much of my time away from being able to write anything. My current work in progress novels have even taken a hit. I’ve been stuck on the same chapters for a month now and it has really begun to frustrate me.

However, I didn’t come to my blog to discuss my shortcomings in my writing. I used to use my blog as a way to voice my opinion on matters such as gay marriage, the hunger crisis in America and how bullies should just shut the hell up. I love the ability to just say what is on my mind and let others discuss these topics right along with me however tonight I just wanted to write about anything. So I’ve come up with some topics that have either come across the media the past couple of weeks or are some things that are on my mind.

James Holmes: The most hated man in America

Unless you’ve been living under a rock the past week, you should know this man’s name by now and it is unfortunate that we do. Personally I agree with the victims of the Colorado tragedy and boycott his name and any likeness of him. He should become the Voldemort of the muggle world. I’m sorry for the Harry Potter reference but I’m being very serious about this. People like he-who-should-not-be-named take pride in knowing that they are famous. They know that what they’ve planned will bring attention to their sad, lonely lives and we shouldn’t give him the satisfaction of being famous. That is what has become of our society. Everyone is seeking their 15 minutes and some will go to extreme measures to make this happen. I say ignore him and focus solely on the victims. In other awesome news, kudos to Christian Bale in being a stand-up guy for visiting the survivors of the shootings. He has become a new favorite of mine.

The Muppets take on Chick-Fil-A

Yes this is another post about gay marriage. I’m so proud of the Hensons for taking a stand against hate and bigotry in this country. I hate it that Chick-Fil-A has decided to take this route (considering chicken mini biscuits are the most nom-tastic things I’ve ever put into my mouth) but they have always been a very conservative business. They don’t open on Sunday’s for religious beliefs and they have that right. However, when you spread an anti-gay marriage agenda to your customers you are allowing yourself an open door to boycotts. Do people not realize that over 50% of the country is now in favor of gay marriage? Time to live in the 2000s instead of the 1900s people. Just saying.

Kristen Stewart cheats on Robert Pattinson with a guy named Rupert

I… whatever.

The Olympics begin this week

My thoughts? Oh wait, has it been four years already?

Gun control… debate again anyone?

Since he-who-should-not-be-named decided that it was okay to kill 12 people in a Colorado theater, gun permits and sales have gone through the roof. Want to know why? The logical answer would be that more people want to protect themselves. Reality? Most pro-gun supporters are terrified of their 2nd amendment rights being taken away from them. Personally, believe this or not, I believe in the right to bear arms. I have been a gun owner myself and I do not see anything wrong with having guns. Not all people with guns kill one another. Yes there are crazy people in the world. Some of them own guns. Not all of them will go out into crowded movie theaters and kill people. This same thing happened when the Columbine tragedy struck. People got scared that their rights would be infringed because two young men hated the world. However, I do think that certain types of guns should be outlawed. Who needs an AK? Honestly?

I think this debate should stop. We should have the right to own guns. The topic of discussion shouldn’t be about the guns but how do we stop these tragedies before they begin. Obviously this man had issues before he plotted his attack. He dropped out of school. He had professors worried about him. His family didn’t seem too concerned. Was it odd that he would just stop going to school? I know if I just all the sudden quit school my parents would wonder why. I know most people will not be satisfied with the answers as to why he did it, but hopefully it will give behavioral analysts the tools to understand others who may plot something like that in the future.

Those are my thoughts on the topics overflowing my timeline of Facebook and Twitter. Let me know what you think by your comments. I’d love to know your thoughts.

Also, August 3rd, my new book The Tarot Diaries: Book One: The Fool will hit the internet. I’ll have more information for availability on that day.

Thanks again for reading my posts and hopefully it won’t be so long between this and the next post.

 

