Tags

, , , , ,

Author Snapshot

Author Name: Melissa Keir

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Title of Works: “Forever Love” in Love Again Anthology; Second Time’s the Charm; Protecting His Wolfe

Website: http://www.melissakeir.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/melissaakeir

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/#!/melissa_keir

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5752455.Melissa_Keir

Buy your work(s) at: Amazon; Barnes and Noble; All Romance; Bookstrand

Publisher: Ruby Lioness Press; Rebel Ink Press

A little bit about yourself:

Tell me a little bit about your newest project.

~My newest project was just released June 3rd from Rebel Ink Press.  Protecting His Wolfe is the tale of a small town girl who left her comfy living for a job that puts her life in danger.  She overhears a drug deal and now someone is out to kill her.  A sexy police detective sets out to protect her body and soul.

Protecting His Wolfe is the first in a series that features three brothers with the last name Pigg who find romance with women characters who resemble fairy tale characters.  In Protecting His Wolfe, the main female character is named Wolfe and there is a play on the fairy tale of The Three Little Pigs.  In this story the woman is the Wolfe and the Pigg has to protect her.

Describe yourself as a writer.

~I write in spurts.  I have a million plot bunnies resting in my head and on my computer but with my three jobs, I need to find time to sit down and write.  I like to let my characters take the lead and tell their stories.

Are there any reoccurring themes in your books?

~Each of my books have the theme of second chances.  I believe that everyone deserves a chance to find love.  I like to have characters who don’t set out searching for love, end up finding love, sometimes where they least expect it.

Do you put any of your own experiences into your books?

~Yes, for example… I was a divorced mother of two children.  So when I was writing my story “Second Time’s the Charm” I wanted to create a character who was divorced and who didn’t have time for love.  Lissa Vincent was putting all her time into her children and career. She didn’t even think love was possible for her.

Were there ever times that you wanted to quit writing? If so how did you overcome that?

~There are days when it feels overwhelming to be a full time teacher, wife, mother, editor, book reviewer and author.  It is at those times I feel like giving up.  But I love my writing and it gives me an artistic outlet and challenge that teaching doesn’t.

Is there an author that has influenced your style of writing?

~ I think that the person who has most influenced my style of writing is Margaret Atwood.  She writes stories and poems that showcase strong women who speak their mind.  When I read her short story “Gertrude Talks Back,” I really loved how she gave a character that Shakespeare barely let talk, tell her side of the story.  When I am writing, I hope to create strong female characters who aren’t afraid to speak their mind.

Do you think that social media has helped with book sales for small or indie publishers?

~Social Media has made it possible for more people to hear about different authors and books.  Indie and small publishers are able to reach a larger audience with the help of Facebook and Twitter.  I love that it allows me to also have some interaction with some of my favorite writers.  I’ve been able to hear about upcoming releases and their writing style, which I think makes my own writing grow.

Is there a particular family member that has helped along the way?

~My mom passed away about fifteen years ago but she was the one who helped me become a writer.  She wrote a romance novel back in the early 80’s.  She sent it off to publishers but her manuscript never was accepted.  The dream of being an author came from her.  I knew that she would have gotten a kick out of my work and I hope that she is proud.

Do you have any advice or things you’ve learned along the way to help future writers?

~I’ve learned that getting the story done is only the first part of the job.  Once you have the story down, you have to edit it so that it will be accepted by a publisher.  I was lucky to find a couple of wonderful  publishers who accepted my manuscript.  Once my story was published the real work began. Having a published story is like having a great idea… it needs to be promoted which is the hardest part.  I’ve had to become a salesperson about my books and spread the word in order to get my name and my books out to readers.  Another thing that I learned is that publishing takes time.  It took half a year for my book to go from contract to published.  Then waiting on sales and trying to make a positive impression also takes time.  Becoming a writer doesn’t happen overnight.

Do you have any upcoming projects you would like to share?

~Besides “Protecting His Wolfe” coming out in June, I also have “Beach Desires” coming out in June by Secret Cravings Publishing.  “Beach Desires” is the second story in the Wilder Sisters series which began in “Forever Love”.  “Beach Desires” tells the tale of Stacey Wilder who vowed to never return to her hometown because she was forced to hide her passion for other women growing up.  Now on a vacation get-away, she meets someone who just might be the perfect match for her.  But will their relationship only be a holiday fling?

Thank you for having me today!  I loved sharing my books with you and hope that your readers enjoyed getting to know me.  If anyone would like to contact me, I have a website at www.melissakeir.com where I share stories about growing up, being a mom of a blended family, and about my writing.

