Author Snapshot

Author Name: Natasha Larry

Genre: Young Adult/ Paranormal/Fantasy

Title of Works: Darwin’s Children Series. Darwin’s Children (Book 1) Unnatural Law  (Book 2)

Website: http://paranormalwire.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Darwins-Children-Series/145755472156223

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/natashalarry

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4356316.Natasha_Larry

Buy your work(s) at: http://www.amazon.com/Darwins-Children-ebook/dp/B0050CL8R2/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

http://www.amazon.com/Unnatural-Law-Darwins-Children-ebook/dp/B005ZZJO20/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1?ie=UTF8&m=AG56TWVU5XWC2

Publisher: Penumbra Publishing: http://penumbrapublishing.com

A little bit about yourself:

  1. Tell me a little bit about your newest project.  I just finished the third book in this series entitled Common Descent. It’s in the editing phase, and is set to come out sometime in July of 2012. I also have a few short stories in the works. One of them is about Sasha Gray, one of my psychic vampires. The other is about a new character in Common Descent, Brianna Miller.
  2. Describe yourself as a writer. Odd, as most writers are. A total dork. Often times, a train wreck… I write all my first drafts in sharpie marker, and then type them out. Why? No idea, it’s just what works for me. I keep trying to combat this and am so far, failing miserably. Passionate and hopefully, inventive. J
  3. Are there any reoccurring themes in your books? If I had to pick one I would go with evolution.
  4. Do you put any of your own experiences into your books? Sure thing. I’ve never personally gone through anything my characters have gone through, but I do tend to give each of them some of my personal likes and hobbies.
  5. Were there ever times that you wanted to quit writing? If so how did you overcome that? Oh, yeah. All the time. I don’t think this is something writers can avoid. Sometimes, it’s just hard. Sometimes you worry that you aren’t good enough. As far as overcoming it… I love what I do, and it always comes back to that. I figure if you love with something, you take the good with the bad and hope for the best.
  6. Do you listen to anything while you write? If so what bands influence you to write. Sometimes. I have a very eclectic taste in music, or so I’ve been told. I’ve been inspired by Disturbed, Bob Dylan, John Lenin, The Beetles, Michael Jackson, Lil’ Wayne, and I’m a sucker for show tunes.
  7. Do you use an outline for your books and does it help? No. I sit down, write and see where I wind up. Chaos is beautiful J
  8. Is there an author that has influenced your style of writing? Frank Miller is my god author, our styles are nothing alike, but a girl can dream J
  9. Do you think that social media has helped with book sales for small or indie publishers? Sure thing. I don’t think indie or small publishers should limit themselves by using social media alone, but I don’t doubt that a large following is essential.
  10. Is there a particular family member that has helped along the way? My parents have always supported my writing. My fiancé is my biggest fan, and there are a few people in the writing community that sometime show an enthusiasm that rivals my own. I consider them family.  Without them, this journey would have been impossible.
  11. Do you have any advice or things you’ve learned along the way to help future writers? You need an honest writing buddy and a quality editor. You can’t skip these steps, and if you love your work, you won’t want too.  Remember that writing fiction is a very convincing illusion. You are telling the story, yet you can never let anyone know what you are writing the story.
  12. What do you wish to accomplish with your writing? I have a lot I want to accomplish. I want to be as original and inventive as possible. I strive to give readers warm fuzzies, make them laugh and give them a sense of drama.

13. Do you have any  projects you would like to share? Sure, here are blurbs from my two current novels:  Darwin’s Children: Life can get pretty complicated for any seventeen-year-old girl, but for a home-schooled telepathic black girl trying to survive in a prestigious private school in small-town Jonesborough, Tennessee, it can be maddening – especially when her telepathic father keeps eavesdropping on her thoughts!

Jaycie Lerner’s family isn’t the usual mom-dad-kid setup. Her family’s special – in more ways that one. Her mom’s MIA, but Allison, her personal live-in ‘trainer,’ is more than a mom, with her own special abilities, like being able to lift cars and run incredibly fast. And her godfather John can literally convince anyone to do anything.

But, as far as the rest of the world’s concerned, Jaycie’s on the outside looking in. The townsfolk love her pediatrician father, but she doesn’t fit in with ‘normal’ kids, and she doesn’t really want to. Most of her free time is spent training to keep her telekinetic and telepathic powers under control. But there’s one thing she can’t control – her feelings, especially when her best friend Matt is nearby. If only he knew what she was truly capapble of…

Everything seems to be status quo for Jaycie and her family, until she receives a cryptic message from a stranger and meets a very unusual girl new to Jonesborough. Then all hell breaks loose!

Unnatural Law: Seventeen-year-old Jaycie Lerner’s psychokinetic power surge is over, and her astounding powers are under control for the time being – sort of. As she struggles to maintain her humanity in the face of the awesome terror and responsibility of her abilities, she also yearns for the chance at a normal life – and a relationship with Matt Carter, the best friend she had to leave behind. But Matt’s got a few tricks up his sleeve, and he’s not about to give up on his feelings for Jaycie.

As Jaycie and her family grapple with the day-to-day routine of trying to keep their world together, Jaycie’s mother figure, Allison Young, endures a personal crisis of her own. The superhuman blonde possesses the physical equivalent of Jaycie’s awesome psychic power. So evolved, at ninety-two she still looks twenty. But what good is extended life when everyone else around her is so fragile? With no one to share her unusual life, she’s a uniquely lonely woman yearning for the romantic love she sees all around her. But in a dream she gets her wish – and it quickly turns to a nightmare for everyone else in her life. The memory of a rose is all she can hold onto in the storm of obsession that nearly sweeps her away.

Things quickly turn deadly for the vampires, but the Dey-Vah Guard fairies refuse to acknowledge there’s an imbalance in the nature they protect. As the danger gets ever closer to Jaycie and her family, the race is on to find answers before a secret plot can destroy them all.

14. If you could have an author co-write with you, who would it be? Rainy Kaye all the way. She’s a future author and she rocks.

Author Bio: Natasha Larry resides in Buffalo, NY.  She graduated from Tusculum College with a B.A. in History and is currently working on getting her certificate in education. Apart from writing, she is a self-proclaimed comic book nerd and urban fantasy junkie. Her poetry and short fiction has appeared in publications such as Writing Edge magazine and Escaping Elsewhere. Darwin’s Children is her first work of novel length fiction.

