Tags

, , , , ,

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.” – Thomas Jefferson

A co-worker of mine told me of two friends of hers, both men, who have been together for over 40 years. Now let’s think about this. Forty years is a very long time to be with someone, even in a civil union. However, the United States of America believes that the two of these lovely people should not, and can never get married.

Why?

I think that Americans need to go back to school and focus on the founding fathers. Yes this nation was created under God. Yes the believed that all men were created equal. They also escaped Europe for religious persecution. They founded the US of A to never have to deal with unequal rights for those who didn’t agree with the laws and fought to change persecution for their belief system.

As I started thinking about this post, I remembered something. The Declaration of Independence was written in 1776. It took until after the civil war for the abolishment of slavery. It took until the 1920s for women to vote. It took until the 1960s for separate but equal to disappear. So now it’s 2012 and what have we done for EVERYONE to be equal? We’ve apparently done nothing.

Last night the state of North Carolina passed amendment one making a marriage only between a man and woman AND also stopped any other “union” from being legal. That means all my friends who are “common law” are no longer allowed to be called as such. This means that the protection laws for unmarried couples in domestic disputes can be over turned. There are so many things wrong with this amendment that I don’t even know where to begin.

I want to clarify something before I continue. I, Elicia, believe in God. I believe that He created the heavens and the earth. I believe that He is the sole reason why we are here today. HOWEVER, I also believe that God wants all of us to be happy. Yes in the bible it does say that marriage is between a man and a woman. HOWEVER, God also taught us to be tolerant of others. He taught us to love everyone despite their own ideals. HELLO… Jesus loved a prostitute and showed that everyone should have the opportunity to be loved.

So back to my original point – who are we to decide that two people should not be together? Who are we to judge? Who are we to say that ALL people are not created equal? The founding fathers believed that we were all created equal and that we ALL should have the right to marry whomever we please. They were God fearing, honest men who wanted rights. We, as Americans are entitled to those rights, no matter your color or your sexual preference.

I understand that you may be angered by this blog, and I may lose friends, and I may gain some too, but this is me being honest about my beliefs. I never try to cross political with my writing but when something is unfair, I will point it out.  I just hope that one day we will understand that love is love. It even says so in the bible:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.  It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.  Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. – 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

 

