If you’ve been following my debacle with my depression/anxiety/heart palpitation issues on my blog (and I appreciate all the kind words, concerns, prayers, etc) you would understand my frustration from not knowing what was wrong with me.

There were some days that I was fine and everything was going okay. However, there were just some days that I felt like the world was crashing down around me. I would go into crying fits and then I would just hurt. Other days would just leave me not wanting to do anything. After all that I would eventually end up with hot flashes and anger. Like the kind of anger that would make my husband back up and leave me alone (I didn’t realize how bad it had gotten until my BFF explained to the doc how moody I could get).

So today as I sat with my doctor and best friend Katie, the three of us put our heads together to figure all this out. We time lined it, pinpointed the main issues and before I realized what it was all leading to, we had a diagnosis. Or at least we “hope” this is it.

I’ve never realized how epic PMDD (Premenstrual Dysphoric Disorder) could be on a woman’s body. As I looked up the symptoms today and I nearly cried. Everything fit from the heart palpitations a couple of days a month to the depression and anxiety. Everything fit in like a puzzle. I feel like the biggest weight has been lifted from my chest. Granted, I still hurt and it will be a process, but knowing is half the battle (Go Joe!).

I honestly think having a great doctor played a huge part into this. On top of that his nurse, who was so helpful to me, had a lot to do with it too. They listened and worked with me to understand what I felt and how I was feeling. He broke down the reasons behind the medications and why I needed them. He even took the time to explain what other ones wouldn’t work so great. That to me is an amazing doctor!

Now that everything has been settled, I feel better and I can go on with my life instead of questioning everything. I have a new outlook and feel amazing despite still having the symptoms. I have so many people to thank for their help through this, so many that I don’t think I can name them all. You, my readers, family and friends helped me get through this and I don’t think you have any idea how much that means to me. I appreciate it all.

I can finally get back to writing.

Thank you.

