Lucy Van Pelt: Are you afraid of responsibility? If you are, then you have hypengyophobia.
Charlie Brown: I don’t think that’s quite it.
Lucy Van Pelt: How about cats? If you’re afraid of cats, you have ailurophasia.
Charlie Brown: Well, sort of, but I’m not sure.
Lucy Van Pelt: Are you afraid of staircases? If you are, then you have climacaphobia. Maybe you have thalassophobia. This is fear of the ocean, or gephyrobia, which is the fear of crossing bridges. Or maybe you have pantophobia. Do you think you have pantophobia?
Charlie Brown: What’s pantophobia?
Lucy Van Pelt: The fear of everything.
Charlie Brown: THAT’S IT!

Granted I am a psych major and doing pretty well at telling others how to construct their lives but when it comes down to my own, forget it. I think Justin Furstenfeld (who I’ve had a crush on for many years) of Blue October said it correctly in his lyrics for The Answers:

I’m an automatic steeple for depressed and lonely people.
My heart while in its cage,
give and not receive a thing,
But the only funny thing is that I don’t know how to give myself advice.

Why is it so easy to tell others how they should live their lives but yet when it comes down to following your own advice you just can’t muster up the courage to do so?

I’ve always been a really good listener and yet when I have problems of my own, and the solution is right in front of me, I can never accept those facts. So I’ve decided to make a change. From now on, I’ll follow my own advice no matter how hard it may be to do so.

So now that I’ve covered my obsession with Blue October, let’s get back to Lucy.

It all started in the 11th grade. I worked on a huge project for my science class on fears, phobias and anxieties (See my previous post on my Fears). I knew then that I wanted to study more on these and before I knew what I was doing, I enrolled into college back in 2009 to study Psychology. I’ve always been fascinated with the way the mind works and how something that could happen to you as a child could influence the way you lived the rest of your life. Think about the fact that environmental issues could also play a huge part in the way you live.

I could imagine myself having a roadside stand charging five cents for a psychological evaluation. This all came up in a conversation with my husband one afternoon on a walk. I always try to help him with his issues with family, friends and other things. He was the one who said that it reminded him of Lucy and Charlie Brown with the booth… and I agreed. So I made him pay me a nickel for his troubles (just kidding… he bought me lunch instead).

Basically I guess I’m saying that I love being an author and I cannot wait to use some more of the things I learn in school towards my books. I think learning as much as you can about human nature helps you write more diversely about different topics.

And if I don’t make it as an author, I can always have patients tell me their troubles.

