I’d prefer to not go into details of exactly what happened but I will say this, I was minutes away from quitting my writing career. I reached that point where I wanted to just stop and go back to a regular 9-5 job where I knew I’d make a lot more money and bills would be taken care of – life would be easier.

Then last night as I poured over emails from people asking questions about how to be featured on my blog and even asking how to get published, I realized something. I’m doing what I’ve always wanted to do. It takes sacrifices and heart aches… and of course a pay cut. All in all though I answer to no one (except my publisher) and I can write. There are so many people that would love to be able to do this. If it means Ramen noodle dinner nights or not buying that pair of Steve Maddens that I’ve had my eye on for months, then so be it. I’m free. I’m free of people saying I can’t do this or telling me how to dress or even telling me when to come into work.

I’m free.

I’m free of jerk bosses who take credit for the work I do. I’m free of being blamed for things that are beyond my control.

I say it again, I’m free.

Freedom doesn’t come easy but my husband and I have been through worse. We can get through this rough patch and I know that in the end, it will pay off. It may not be instantly but it will be in the future. I have to keep at it and keep working no matter how much it takes away from material gains. I’ve already gained the freedom of being myself and that to me is worth way more money than any company could ever pay me.

