Tears in the Rubble – Britni Hill

It all started with a thousand word short story assignment.  Yes, something as simple as that grew and grew.  It wouldn’t stop.  A really good friend of mine writes also and we used to talk all the time about how we would get stuck in a rut.  We searched for some local writer’s groups but honestly both of us were leery of letting strangers read anything we had written.  So, we decided to form our own little writer’s group with the people we trusted the most.  Just the two of us.  We settled on giving each other weekly writing assignments.  Yes, we are dorks.  No, we don’t care.

I had these two characters in my head for a while and I didn’t really know what to do with them or where they were going.  I was stuck.  Knowing that I tend to write darker stories my friend tells me to write a scene with them.  A little short love story.  She tells me I can’t have any supernatural elements, no darkness, just a simple little love story.  So here I go off into uncharted territory.

And then I couldn’t stop.  Once I had that one scene it just kept coming.  Two childhood friends in their secret hideaway on prom night, so many possibilities.  I saw their whole relationship in my head.  Before prom, after prom.  A whole lifetime of fights and tender moments.  Stupid decisions followed the realistic consequences.  My characters took over and Tears in the Rubble was born.

 – Britni Hill

Tears in the Rubble

Layla Swanson grew up in the lazy, small town of Hollow Oaks and can’t wait to get out.  She has big dreams and big plans in the big city.  Layla has worked hard and her senior year is nearly at its end.  She can’t wait to go away to college.  And she’s one step closer to getting what she wants. Layla isn’t letting anyone get in her way.

Taylor Scott may not be your typical country boy, but he doesn’t mind Hollow Oaks.  His dreams may not be marked on paper and set in stone, but it doesn’t mean he doesn’t have them.

A chance meeting between the two childhood friends may have Layla second guessing her longtime plan. Their rekindled friendship is leading them down a path neither one could have foreseen.  But with Layla leaving for college, many challenges face them, especially when she so stubbornly sticks to her solo plan.

Is Taylor’s love enough to convince Layla to let him in?  Or when everything falls apart, will Layla run away?

If you want to know more about Britni or her characters find her on Facebook or check out her blog.

You can find Tears in the Rubble at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, BookStrand, and ARe.

