Tags

, , , ,

“What is it Lassie, is Elicia stuck in a well?”

I shake my head at the thought of it but heaven forbid I’ve hit the proverbial brick wall with a story idea. I already know where I want “Tarot Diaries” to go. It’s basically written itself however this one story that keeps popping up in my head has me losing my ever-loving mind.

I’ve tried everything from sitting outside in the sun to trying to convince myself to dream of the story line (which is where the story idea first appeared). My mind keeps wandering to the male character and I can’t seem to get a clear picture of him in my head. I know I want him to be a blue-collar mechanic with tattoos. That’s as far as I’ve gotten with it. The protagonist is even harder to pin down.

I think I know why I’m having a hard time with her. I’ve worked so hard to write against the grain of the “damsel in distress” that when I try to write her to be that character, it frustrates me. I want her to be strong, but it requires her to be helpless, at least in the beginning. Why must I torture myself like this?

I think it’s important to step out of your comfort zone and allow yourself to find something that you aren’t comfortable writing and give it a try. At least you can say you gave it your best even though it was hard to do.

I’m working on the story line for “The Girl of the Clovers” and it’s hard. It features Kaelyn Shockley, a girl who tries to flee her controlling husband and heads back home to Tupelo, Mississippi. There’s a problem though. She finds herself stuck in a small town when she misses her connection home. She has no money, knows no one and relies on the kindness of an old mechanic to help her out. Meanwhile she meets the mechanic’s son who at first seems cold and heartless.

That’s all I have right now. There’s where the brick wall hits and I don’t know what else to do with it. There will be a theme of four-leaf clovers in it because I can find them like no one business. So until then, I’ll try drawing smiley faces on the brick wall until something comes to me.

So tell me, what do you do with a story when you know what you want but can’t quite get there?

