I will be the first to tell you that music is what controls my soul. No doubt about it. In fact my music of choice at this moment is “Tonight, Tonight” – hell the entire “Mellon Collie” album by the Smashing Pumpkins.

It just seemed fitting considering the best times for my creativity comes late at night. I’ve been working slowly to adjust my schedule to sleep during the day and write at night. That may seem a little odd but you have to understand where I’m coming from.

In October 2009, a dear and true friend of mine (we’ll call her JennyP for anonymity sake) introduced me to something that stopped my novel writing dead it its tracks. This vice of mine was called Twilight Fan Fiction. I read AngstGoddess003’s “Wide Awake” and was never the same again. I just had to keep reading more and more and found myself daring to write it too.

I spent the entire month of October hashing out 5,000 words nearly every single night of my life. It rained outside for the entire month of October also which made me think that I was in Forks or that I was channeling the characters themselves.

The point is I wrote because I was missing something. I needed something to fill a void and writing did it for me. I worked all night long on writing, slept all day and it was rewarding. I felt like I was accomplishing something and when that very last word of the story was on the page I sat back with a sigh of relief and wiped my brow. I had never been good with follow through and it made me realize that I could write. I could put words together and create this world full of characters that I either loved or hated. I started on October 3, 2009 and the last word was written on October 29th. So for 26 days I hashed out over 60,000 words. I never knew I had it in me to do something like that.

On top of that, would you believe I did that without any kind of coffee?

So back to my point, which is probably as scattered as my brain is right now. Music plus night time makes for amazing writing. I’m a night owl, always have been and probably always will be. I’m not made for 9-5 jobs where I have to answer to someone other than myself. I tried that route for over 16 years and I can safely say I’ve never been happier with what I’ve accomplished. Sure, it may not be perfect, it may not be NY Times Best Seller quality but it’s mine. I created these characters in my mind and figured out a way to make them live on paper. I do this because I love the art of writing. Not because I have to, or because I want to make others happy. I do it because I love to see my characters come to life.

To me, that’s better than a Pulitzer – even though that would be nice to have too.

