The woman motioned for me to sit at a round table which took up the middle part of the room. I sat down carefully, watching her every move. Finny sat down next to me. I don’t know if it was the tequila or nerves but my stomach began to turn.

“I must never touch the money before a reading. It clouds my judgment,” the lady said, handing me a white envelope. “The reading will be $20.”

Finny reached into his pocket and pulled out a $20 bill. I guess he felt obligated to pay since it was his fault that we were doing this in the first place.

I carefully placed the envelope over to the lady. She laid it in a wooden box covered in some inscription behind her.

“Now that we have that settled, what would you like to know?” she asked.

I looked to Finny for answers but all he could do was shrug.

“I guess whatever you can tell me. Maybe what I’m meant to do?”

She nodded as she pulled a set of cards out from under a purple cloth. I was a third year college student at Washington State. I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life and maybe this could give me some sort of an idea.

The fortune teller began shuffling the cards ever so carefully as she pulled them one by one onto the table. The cards resembled a cross and as she began to flip each card over, something happened that I had never seen before.

